Matt Giesbrecht's E-Portfolio

Home » Uncategorized » Inner-Ninja: Using ClassDojo for Classroom Management

Inner-Ninja: Using ClassDojo for Classroom Management

ClassDojoBanner

During my internship, I have found that a major issue is classroom management. Just when I feel that I have my students behaving and wrapped around my finger, they act up. Despite my efforts to calm them down, it always seems that there is something that riles them up and makes them disruptive and restless. One method of classroom manageent that we have begun using in our classroom is a program called ClassDojo.

ClassDojo is an interactive program which provides each student with a cute and cuddly avatar to represent themselves. At the teachers discretion, students can either give students points for good behaviour (such as being on task or helping out a classmate) or take points away for bad behaviour (such as being disruptive or not completing homework).

The interactive nature of this program makes it great for displaying on the projector which is mounted in our classroom. By having the interface projected on the board, students are able to see updates to their scores as they happen. If a student gets a point taken away for being disruptive to others, a notification will appear on the screen informing the student that this has happened. Although this may appear as though we are shaming the student, we have noticed that it quickly helps turn around the behaviour as soon as the see the message pop up. The opposite is also true. When students see that points are being awarded to them, it reinforces their good behaviour and gives them a boost in confidence.

I feel that ClassDojo is a program that could work in any classroom. It works great in our Grade 6/7 class, and I’m sure that any other grade would have similar results. The video below provides a quick demo of how the program works.

22 Comments

  1. […] Giesbrecht’s “Inner Ninja: Using ClassDojo for Classroom Managment” is an interesting tool to use to encourage certain types of behaviour in a classroom. In this way, […]

  2. […]                                                 https://mattgiesbrecht.wordpress.com/2013/10/15/classdojo/ […]

  3. […] reading the blog and looking more at the website of ClassDojo, I think this would be a great resource to help your […]

  4. […] am uncertain about the blog post Inner-Ninja: Using ClassDojo for Classroom Management by Matt Giesbrecht and whether something like ClassDojo would be a good or bad thing in the […]

  5. […] Dojo looks like a tool I would be interested in learning more about and trying in my classroom. I think […]

  6. […] ” The Great “Respect” Deception”, and “Inner Ninja- Using ClassDojo” has made me think deeply about Classroom Management strategies and what I would use in my […]

  7. […] found both articles to be interesting ideas.  I read the classdojo article first, and while I can see that it may have benefits in the classroom, I don’t think […]

  8. […] One on deception about rules in the classroom, and one about the use of a program called ClassDojo as a form of management. The former resonated with me in a big way. I had one high school teacher […]

  9. […] ClassDojo will most likely not be found in my classroom. I just simply don’t feel that behaving in an appropriate way is something I want to make super flashy in my room. I personally feel that school (as well as home) is the place where we need to teach our young members of society how to act appropriately. Do I plan on rewarding good behaviour? Of course I do. Will I be giving them candy and stickers? Nope, most likely not. I truly believe that what you get in return for behaving well are things such as: friendship, trust, more freedom, mutual respect, etc. So, when my students are behaving our lessons will become more engaging – they will be trusted to be up out of their desks, or going to the computer lab, or trusted to work in the halls by themselves. If I don’t feel that their behaviour is well enough to be able to handle these things, they simply will have the privilege taken away. I think that kids ARE smart enough to understand these things, and the true importance of them. Again, like I mentioned earlier, I can’t necessarily tell you how I am going to ensure that my students are “well-behaved”, because quite honestly, I don’t even know how I want my “perfect student” to look or act yet! […]

  10. […] reading “The Great Respect Deception” & “Inner-Ninja: Using ClassDojo for Classroom Management” , the latter articles really stands out for a variety of […]

  11. […]  But, after reading Dr. Richard Curwin’s blog post on the topic and Matt Giesbrecht’s description of Classroom Dojo, a moderated but self-managed classroom, it’s much easier to take a side in the […]

  12. […] this week, I decided to reflect on Option A—which is reading blog posts about classroom rules and Classroom Dojo. I mostly relate to the first blog, which is about classroom rules, because I used to tell myself […]

  13. […] are many methods of classroom management that enforce rules and back values associated with behaviour. These methods should provide students […]

  14. […] even like a challenge when it comes to focusing on good behavior in the classroom. The article on ClassDojo makes a good point that keeping score of the students behavior is a good way to boost their […]

  15. […] believe ClassroomDojo has a great benefit in certain classes, but I have not thought about how I would incorporate it into […]

  16. […] Using ClassDojo-> I really did not like blog post. I do not like how the students are marking one another. It does not seem fair to me. I think it should be the teacher’s job to make those types of calls. It turns out to be more of a popularity contest, in my opinion. I think that by doing this, especially in a middle years classroom, there could be some hurt feelings […]

  17. […] approach focused on giving specific rules so students know exactly how they should be acting. The second blog talked about a Dojo reward system. Rewarding students can get tricky as you must decide when and […]

  18. […] that I have some issues with. The fact that it gives live feedback is great, and terrible. In the blog Matt even mentions the shaming aspect of the program. There are times where a student maybe needs a […]

  19. […] second blog talked about a program called the “Class Dojo”. I think this is a wonderful idea and have seen something similar to this in a classroom in the […]

  20. […] I do believe that my classroom management will get easier overtime. As said in this class dojo article, just when you think that students are “wrapped around your finger,’ they will act up and be […]

  21. […] enjoyed how the author of the article Class Dojo found a way to manage his class on behaviour that helped both his teaching and the students […]

  22. […] The Class Dojo is an interesting way to manage a class to increase the engagement and behaviour in an interactive way. I personally do not think I would use a strategy such as the Class Dojo in a middle years classroom. This is simply because I do not believe it would be as effective for older students as it would be for younger students, unless there was a reward attached to demonstrating good behaviour. I do however appreciate the concept presented in The Great Respect Deception of creating classroom values, expected behaviours, and rules. This strategy would be beneficial for the students to work towards, and for me to reinforce. […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

