Matt Giesbrecht's E-Portfolio

Home » Tech Tasks » Tech Task #8 – Thank You’s

Tech Task #8 – Thank You’s

Following our final live session, I left with a much greater understanding of how technology can be used within a variety of classroom settings. There were two presenters that really resonated with me.

Firstly, I’d like to thank Heather Durnin. With Heather being a Middle Years teacher, I found myself able to relate with a lot of what she had to say and it was very appealing to me. Personally, my favourite aspect of her presentation was when she discussed the radio station that she runs with her students. 105 The Hive is a radio station that Heather operates at her school with the help of her students. This is a concept that I had not thought of before and it really appeals to me. As I blogged about before, I greatly enjoy podcasting. Through a service like 105 The Hive, I’d be able to have podcasting take place within my own classroom. This is truly a great technology that changed my outlook on technology in my classroom.

Next, I enjoyed how Kathy Cassidy was able to implement blogging into her regular classroom life. With her young students, Kathy tackles literacy by going through and reading the comments on her class blog with the students. The students are then able to give responses back to people who left the comments, as well. I feel that this is a great way to have a sense of community within the classroom, as they make these decisions as a whole and operate the blog together. This is a great classroom activity, in my opinion.

As I head into my internship, I have been debating the idea of using a classroom blog and the benefits that it might have. With the help of these two wonderful educators, as well as the others who helped throughout this course, I am feeling much more confident about using technology in my future classrooms.

2 Comments

  1. I’m glad that you can see the potential of using technology in your classroom, Matt, and that I could help you in your journey. I can’t wait to see what you will do!

  2. I think that the use of a blog in your internship will be really beneficial!

Leave a Reply

Archives

