Matt Giesbrecht's E-Portfolio

Home » Uncategorized » The Human Brain is Awesome

The Human Brain is Awesome

I stumbled across this video in my Twitter feed the other day and I found it quite amazing. I have always been intrigued by the concept of “brain hacking”. Brain hacks can simply be defined as phenomenon that allow your brain to accomplish extraordinary feats.

In this video from the World Science Festival 2009, vocalist Bobby McFerrin demonstrates a brain hack that he has witnessed over the years. What McFerrin is able to do with his audience is astounding. Regardless of how it happens, I think it is fair to say that this demonstration is – in it’s purest sense – pretty awesome.

I wonder how this would play out in front of a school full of children…

6 Comments

  1. nicoleroeher says:

    After reading your post, I googled Brain Hacks, as I was still unsure of what exactly they entailed. I came across an article that had 5 Brain Hacks that give you “mind-blowing” abilities.

    http://www.cracked.com/article_20166_5-brain-hacks-that-give-you-mind-blowing-powers_p2.html

    The one that intrigued me the most was using your non-dominant hand in order to control anger. It discusses how using your non-dominant hand essentially trains the self-control part of the brain. This part of your brain has a lot to do with your ability to control anger (self-control).

    The brain truly is amazing.

    Also, I would love to try that video out with a gym full of students!

  2. This is so neat. I first saw this when I took a Psychology of Music course at school last year. From that, we discussed why Bobby McFerrin was able to do this (it’s all based on musical expectations that we create from infancy). So, I could tell you (from my vast music psychology experience…not) with almost full certainty, that if you did with in front of a school of kids, you would have the same results. That is what we get from the music we listen to, the patterns that have been ingrained in our heads (there are a lot of really cool music studies that give participants a short phrase and ask them to sing the last note, without any prompt. They all sing the same note. Crazy!)

  3. […] including podcasting, technologies I am interested in, and videos that I found particularly thought-provoking. When posting a blog, I also found it important to share on my Twitter to credit those mentioned in […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

